Real estate investor forums

Rehabbing Forum

"How to's" of dealing with contractors, reviews of products, and tips of the trade will help you achieve success.

LynexProperties
Rank
View all Posts

Topic: Buying a Condemned Property Question
Started: 10/25/09 Current Grade: ?
There is a house that is condemned and owners have moved out. I'm interested in purchasing the property but would like to know what to do if I plan to fix and resell the property for profit. I have no experience but do have knowledge of the process. The Total Property Tax + Special Assessments are $5,176 for 2009. That seems pretty high in property taxes so I'm guessing I need to pay off the owed taxes to keep current before I resell? Would I also need to have the Dept. of Health to inspect and get a C.O. (certifcate of occupancy) before I can start renovating or before I can resell? Asking price is $39k and ARV is $150k. The investor who wholesale this property said it needs about $25k in minor repairs. I see that this is a great deal in making profit but like know if there is anything else I would need to do before I can purchase, renovate and resell on a condemned property. Thank you all for your opinon, experience and advice!

-John Lee
Search Search this Topic Subscription Subscribe to this Topic Drop to First Unread Drop to First Unread
Bookmark Topic Bookmark Topic Show Printable Version Show Printable Version Email this Page Email this Page

Stevecsd
Rank 2
View all Posts

# 1
Default Condemned Property
Posted: 10-28-2009   Current Grade: A-
The first thing I would want to know is why is this property condemned? If it is condemned why does someone say it only needs $25K in "minor" repairs?

I would get a reputable home inspection company to inspect it and have a rehab company give you an estimate based on that.

Also, why is a condemned house being priced at $39K? Without seeing it, it is hard to guess, but that seems high for a condemned property.

It may or may not be a great deal.